I Have A Hobby That Works!

Do you remember this?

The beginnings of a compost bin.

The barren beginnings of my garden

I actually did it!  My hopes and dreams of such an intense undertaking – growing a garden and composting – actually came to fruition.  NOW it looks like this…

Whoa Momma! Look at those veggies!Hubby's giant pumpkin project.Thank you Sam's Club. The new compost bin.

So far we have enjoyed lettuce, spinach (not too much before a week of torrential rain destroyed it), zucchini, cucumber, basil, and potatoes.  We still have more potatoes, hot thai peppers, thai basil, butternut squash, tomatoes, bell peppers, and more zucs and cucs coming our way.

As much as I’d love to take all the credit, and I really would, I have to congratulate Hubby on all of his hard work to help our gardening efforts.  Buggy and the dog don’t get congrats as they have worked to destroy the garden instead of help.

With a successful garden comes the need to eat massive amounts of vegetables on any given day.  And since we planted WAY more plants than necessary to feed us, I am in search of how to cook/eat our bounty that we don’t end up sharing.

This week, I used a honking zucchini to make Martha Stewart’s Zucchini-Nut-Bread Cookie Sandwiches.  They weren’t too complicated to make and they are d.e.l.i.c.i.o.u.s.

Yummmmm

I didn’t have walnuts so mine are nutless.  Which is OK for me because I’m not a big nuts-in-my-baked-goods kind of person.  I only had half a cup of old-fashioned oats, so I used half a cup of quick oats.  They turned out just great.

Exhibit A.

Next up will be zucchini fritters, tzaziki sauce, and a cucumber salad.  I’ll let you know how that all goes.

