The Itsy Bitsy Spider Will Ruin My Driving Record

PO: License and registration please ma’am.

Me: Yes sir, just a moment.

PO: Where you headed in such a hurry?

Me: We are going home.

PO: Ma’am, do you realize you were going 15 over the posted speed limit?

Me: I’m so sorry officer.  I really don’t usually speed.

PO: Why are you in such a hurry?

Me: Um… do you really want the truth?

PO: Ma’am.

Me: I’m trying to see if I can make it home with singing only 20 rounds of “The Itsy Bitsy Spider” instead of 30 like yesterday.

PO: Give me a minute while I write up your ticket.

Buggy: It Bit Pider Mommy.  Pider MOMMY!  PIDER!

Me: “The itsy bitsy spider climbed up the water spout….”

PO: Your court date is December 12 or you can pay over the phone.

Me: Thank you.  Sorry sir.

PO: And ma’am, 30 times is safer than 80 mph.

Buggy: IT BIT PIDER MOMMYYYYYYYYYYY!

{I’m predicting this may be a conversation I have one afternoon in the very near future.}

This entry was posted in Parenthood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Itsy Bitsy Spider Will Ruin My Driving Record

  1. This made my husband and I laugh right outloud. As a babysitter, nanny, and teacher, I have had to sing some children’s songs a bazillion times a day. I’ve never thought about counting how many times I had to sing it to get from one destination to another. The funniest for our family, I think, was when my youngest sister, who is 11 years younger than I am, was little, the only way we’d getter to to stop crying or fussing on the way home from somewhere when she’d had it was for all of us to sing “It’s a Small World After All.” The things we do for love, and a somewhat quieter ride home:)

    • AKeo says:

      Yes, the sacrifices we make are great. Remind me to never introduce him to “It’s a Small World”. I would not like to sing that over and over again either.

  2. Stephanie says:

    When I first read this, I thought it had actually happened! Haha! So funny… My sister and I used to sing The Chapel of Love in the car. Over and over and over again.

  3. Hahaha. This is GREAT. There have been times recently when I’ve though “If I have to sing The Wheels on The Bus ONE. MORE. TIME. I’m going to stick something sharp in my eye.”

    • AKeo says:

      Yes. Exactly. I’m hiding all sharp objects. BTW I made a CD of his favorite annoying songs. Let’s hope that subdues him so I don’t have to sing!

  4. I think the officer should have been more lenient – 30 sounds like an awful lot to me!

  5. Jamie-Ellen says:

    For a while we were doing Barnie’s I Love You song. We made up all kinds of verses!
    Then, just a few years ago, KR and I were driving home from NY and we got well into the hundreds with knick-knack paddy-whack. ARGH!

  6. Nate says:

    I love this! It is awesome!

Leave a Reply

