My Naked Truth (About Love): Linky

The fabulous Ryan of The Woven Moments has done it again with another “The Naked Truth” Link party.  This time the theme is love.  I couldn’t resist.  So after you read this, head on over to her place and read her Naked Truth About Love, too!

I’m sure she was terrified.  I’m sure it might not have been her decision.  Not 100% at least. Parents still control much of a 17-year-old’s world, even if her sex life wasn’t within their grasp.

The single, typewritten page tucked neatly in the file cabinet noted that she wanted to go to college.  Government Administration.  One of the only specific pieces of information shared.

Maybe it was the vast potential her life still held.  Mostly it was probably being 17 – barely an adult, still a child in her parents’ eyes.

– – – – –

Two people consumed by love, marriage, a toddler, and infertility.  They examined the far corners of their heart.  There was plenty of room.  They needed more children to love.

More children needed their love.

They applied, they prayed, they cleaned, they presented, they prayed some more, but mostly they waited.

Four years officially.  Six years technically.

It was a Wednesday afternoon.  The phone call came.  “We have a little girl for you.  You can pick her up tomorrow morning.”

Neighbors and friends swarmed to piece together baby essentials.  After all, it had been 6 years since they had prepared for a baby’s arrival.

Thursday morning came.  So did their second little girl.  Exactly one month old.

They loved her before they knew her.  They loved her even more now that they had her.

She slept through her first night in her new home, with her new family.  Mom knew it was a sign that she was where she belonged.  Dad went to the crib every hour through the night, just to admire in awe that she was finally their daughter.

– – – – – –

My naked truth about love:

Love is selfless.  Never selfish.

I am the very product of two families, strangers to each other still, both giving of themselves to the very fullest.

One giving up a child.  One giving of their family to make room for another, not their blood, but theirs all the same.

I was adopted into the most amazing family God could ever have given to me.  I more often forget than remember, or even realize, that I don’t share their blood.

Their gift, my life, my family, my opportunities, my everything, is the epitome of a selfless gift born only from love.

While we may be selfish towards those we love, the selfish act is never love itself.  Selfless acts only come from love.  They are love.

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Naked Truth (About Love): Linky

  1. Oh, I love this post. I can’t tell you how wonderful it is to read your story as a mother of an adopted daughter. To read your love for both of your families. And the clear peace you have about your journey from one to the other.

    Thank you for linking up but much more importantly, thank you for your story. It makes me so hopeful for my daughter!!!

    • AKeo says:

      My parents worked hard to be open with me about my adoption as well as to help me understand that no matter the circumstances of my birth mother, it was a sacrifice of love for her to give me away. Having an incredible family and incredible life certainly has helped my outlook! It hasn’t always been an easy trip, but I definitely have great peace. I’d love to chat with you about it sometime if you need any heads up for your daughter!

      • Hey there! I didn’t get an email when you replied to my comment…but I happened to come back a second time and saw your fabulous reply. Thank you!

        And I’m totally going to take you up on your offer! Not so much for my adopted daughter (who is 1) but for my older daughter (just turned 5) who is now asking more detailed questions about adoption. (“But WHY did sister’s first mom give her up for adoption?”) Feel free to FB message me or something. Maybe we can Skype! 🙂

  2. Abby says:

    This brought tears to my eyes. Gorgeous post!!

  3. Stephanie says:

    This is an absolutely beautiful post. It actually made my heart pound. The love pours through your words. Thank you so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

