My Naked Truth

I’ve recently come across a great gal, Ryan, over at The Woven MomentsShe is hosting a link party for “The Naked Truth” and I thought I would join.  If you have a chance, check her out too.

I was sitting on the couch.  Hubby was right next to me.

My mother and father were sitting on the other couches in the room.

We were chatting.  About being home.

It was late in the evening, 9:00 or so, late for that particular day.  A bunch of friends had just left. They brought food.  I was too tired and too sick to eat it.

I was exhausted.  In pain.  I remember the heat all over my body.  Especially my legs and torso.  They were swollen.  They were throbbing.  I must have had a fever and been late with the pain meds.

Looking down, my precious 3 day old son lay sleeping peacefully in my arms.

What a day.  What a week.  So many events, emotions, new experiences.  Everything had been so exciting.

Today we had gone home.

Amidst our conversation, I looked down and the tears swelled in my eyes.  There was no holding back.

I can’t remember the exact words I spoke.  But I remember the feeling and the thought racing and rising inside of me.  A mixture of joy and fear.

“It is really exciting and really overwhelming to be home and on our own.”

How little I knew just how often those words/feelings/thoughts would ring true.

I love being a mother.  I wouldn’t change it for the world.

But I won’t deny that it is hard.  It is hard every day.  Always putting someone else ahead and above myself, without thinking twice.  Knowing the right thing to do at any and all given moments.  Being at my very best every moment of the day, even when I don’t have the energy or the motivation to be my best.

Don’t forget I’m still a wife and trying to be great at that too.

This is the true test of my character and my strength.  It is overwhelming.  It is the greatest experience I will ever know.

This is my Naked Truth.

This entry was posted in Parenthood, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Naked Truth

  1. Oh, what a wonderful post! I share this particular truth – that parenting is equal parts exciting and overwhelming. Equal parts joyful and trying. Equal parts taxing and rewarding.

    Thank you for sharing and for participating in the linky…I’m totally honored.

    • AKeo says:

      There are times when I think there is something wrong with me for feeling both sides. But friends like you remind me I’m perfectly normal!

  2. The Sweetest says:

    Beautiful, and so true. Motherhood (and childbirth) has been really hard for me, too, and yet, I am up for doing it all over again.

  3. Pingback: The Naked Truth About Love {linky} | The Woven Moments

Leave a Reply

