Ah… Summer!

That’s right people.  Get your green with envy looks on.  Strap that jealousy hat on snug.  I am officially off for summer!

One of the perks of being a teacher.  Along with contracting all common and strange diseases within a 10-mile radius of school, working after contract hours for no pay, teaching strange people, places, and events at the whim of politicians, and oh so many more!  Wait, those don’t sound like perks…

I love my teacher hours.  I cannot deny.  Especially since I’ve had my little Buggy.

The first summer with Buggy.  Well, I don’t know if I could really call that fun.  I was a brand new mother.  A breastfeeding new mother.  A sleep deprived new mother.  I was lucky to get 3 hours of sleep in 24 hours and a shower every 3 days.  I might have brushed my teeth a total of 5 times – the entire summer.  But I did love having my little guy!  When I didn’t have panic attacks about leaving the comforts of home, we got out and about a few times that summer.

Pool time!

Last summer was great.  Buggy had been walking for a month.  He was into things, interested in the world around him, liked going places.  Granted, everything had to be scheduled within 2 hour windows between naps.  We had a blast though.

Yes, I have no pants!

This summer – I’m ready for it to be the best yet.  We’ve got plans.  Buggy’s first beach experience, swimming, water play at the botanical gardens, backyard fun, parks, story time, children’s museum, zoo.  He RUNS everywhere, is interested in EVERYTHING, and he only naps once – so we can actually DO stuff!

Children's Museum slide... whoo!

Hope you all have plans for a fun summer.  Enjoy it while you can.  You know you’ll be whining about the cold in a few months.

This entry was posted in Parenthood, Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ah… Summer!

  1. Oh the summer is so wonderful for kids and families, isn’t it? I love that the best things to do are full-day activities: beach, pool, etc.

    Let the good times roll!

Leave a comment