Food Wars: I’m Back!

Sorry for the hiatus.  I became self-conscious after my 2nd post of feeding my toddler as I found a glorious site with mostly all the answers and thought why would anyone want to read about my food wars if this lady is the guru?  Then I decided even if she is awesome, I can still write about my experience.  So here we are…

I have been constantly reading this blog.  Constantly like I’ve almost read all of her posts…

And it is fantastic.  Lots of great ideas, good recipes, and so on.  Luckily, it reaffirmed a lot I am doing with Buggy.  It also has given me some great tips for what I should be doing and will be doing to promote his healthy eating.

I just made some of the fruit/veggie muffins.  And the peanut gallery agrees that they are YUMMY!  (I did applesauce instead of oil, did the flax like she suggests – and I did zucchini banana together as well as apple carrot.  Will do many other wild combos through the seasons.)

Zucchini Banana Muffins

I found that site at the perfect time.  A few weeks ago I was going through a crisis with Buggy.  The transition from baby to toddler is a tough one for momma.  So many changes.  Without a verbally communicating child, the transition is hard.  Independence begins its approach.  Buggy has been a good baby to toddler transitioner.  However, I was having a hard time with food.  With a child that can’t tell me whether he is full, hates what I’ve given him and wants something else, or just doesn’t feel like eating – how do I go from getting my baby as much nourishment as I can get in to letting my toddler show me what and how much he will eat?  I found myself stuffing him with crackers at the end of every meal, scared he wasn’t eating enough to be “full”.  Something in the back of my mind told me I needed to let that go.  That site helped.

I also realized that he and I are doing a pretty darn good job.  He eats well, will try anything new, and he has rubbed off on me.  In my attempt to introduce variety and health to him without making separate meals for all of us, I have inadvertently introduced variety and health to myself.  And I’m loving it.  I feel better just knowing I’m eating better and I am finding some really good food that I thought I hated (salmon, cauliflower, and much more).

So I’m back with Food Wars.  Who knows where it will take me?  All I know is that I have a passion for feeding my son (and myself) healthy, delicious food but can struggle to carry it out.  The saga continues…

This entry was posted in Food, Health, Parenthood and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food Wars: I’m Back!

  1. Maryann says:

    Thanks Anne! I really appreicate it. I’m glad my site has been able to help you. We are all in this parenthood thing together!

    • AKeo says:

      I only wish I had found you sooner. Feeding babies/kids is the one subject with such vague “directions”. Thanks for what you do – it is greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

