I Love My Vacuum And My Vacuum Loves Me

Yes, a blog post from a mommy about her vacuum.  How 1950s of me you say?  Well, I could go on a feminist rant about how… oh I don’t have it in me and I’m just not that feminist.  (I do expect equal pay and rights of course, but I also expect a man to be a gentleman or receive a scathing look.)  But let’s face it.  If I left the cleaning to my husband, A) it would never get done, and B) if it did get done it would look like it hadn’t.  His idea of clean is a little less hair on the floor than the dog has on its bag and sticky fingerprints on the outsides of dishes are OK because you use the inside.  He does clean mind you, but not from his own motivation.

I am a bit Type A.  My husband and close friends are nodding along.  But not so Type A that I clean top to bottom every day, that my beds have fresh sheets every week, or that my bathrooms are scrubbed… well, lets say regularly.  But I do enjoy a clean house, organization, schedules/planning, and some level of order in life.

We bought a Dyson about 7 months ago.  I somewhat dreaded the day as I thought there is no way a vacuum should ever cost that much.  I found them ridiculous when they came out.  Just because some smart looking guy with a European accent talks about how superior they are does not justify the price tag of around $500.  It’s a vacuum.  And I’m cheap.  Oh I can afford to buy half way decent clothes from department stores at the mall, but I still purchase most of my wardrobe from Target, Old Navy, and the occasional item from Walmart because I’m too scared to pay more than $25 for an item of clothing.  Nothing wrong with those places, but they seem to lack a certain level of quality and I seem to re-buy my wardrobe each year.  Just an example of my cheapness.

Anyways, I love my Dyson.  It was a combo deal at Sam’s Club.  Hand vac and regular vac for about the same price as that yellow thing most people have (mine is not the yellow thing and don’t ask me what model it is because I have no idea).  All I know is that it is wonderful.  It has a nifty little button that turns the brush off so I can vacuum my kitchen, bathroom, and hardwood floors.  Broom be gone!  And the hand vac?  It lasts 6 MINUTES STRAIGHT!  Yes, you heard that right.  No losing power after 10 seconds and only sucking up half the dirt pile like those crappy things we’ve owned for years.  I could probably vacuum my living room with that thing and still have some juice to head into another room.  And the attachments – about 10.  No idea what I could use half of them for but they attach to both.  I discovered one of them recently that can brush/suck up all the hair from the bathroom sink.  Making it easy and less disgusting to wipe down the vanity. (Yes, I despise my own fallen hair.)

Honestly, I could care less what the name says on my vacuum.  Whatever brand will do these lovely things, save me time, clean my house, and leave me happy deserves a little love!

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Love My Vacuum And My Vacuum Loves Me

  1. Pingback: What I’ve Learned In Preschool | Always Half Full

  2. I blog quite often and I truly appreciate your content. This great article has really peaked my interest.
    I am going to book mark your blog and keep checking for new details
    about once a week. I opted in for your RSS feed too.

  3. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous
    to and you are just extremely excellent. I really like what you have acquired
    here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep
    it wise. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is really
    a terrific website.

Leave a Reply

