That New Crayon Smell

I love the start of a new school year.  I do not thoroughly enjoy going back to work after having 2 months off.  But I love the start of a new school year.  All because of NEW school supplies.

There is something fantastic about new school supplies.  That fresh box of sharpened crayons.  Never used pencils.  A full glue stick.  Unwrapping a new pack of lined notebook paper.  It’s all so fun and exciting.

This is my third year being a teacher without a classroom.  So I haven’t had the pleasure of buying new school supplies for a while.  But it doesn’t keep me from ogling them.  Oh yes, my friends, I stalk those school supply aisles like I work at Staples.  It takes a boat load of self control not to swing everything into my shopping cart.

I did buy a school calendar though.  Thanks to budget cuts, and that I’m not centered at one school, there won’t be a calendar supplied to me.  So I went and bought myself a new, spiral bound, 2010-2011 academic calendar.  I couldn’t wait to get home and start filling in birthdays and the few first of the school year meetings I have scheduled.  I’m a total dork, I know.

But just like all new things, the school supply shine begins to fade.  The crayons and pencils get dull and break.  The paper runs low and crinkles in the binder.  The glue stick depletes and dries out.  The attempt at keeping an organized calendar gets muddled.

Maybe I like the new school year because of all the promise it brings.  A new group of students to begin molding.  A new chance at helping the previous year’s children.  New colleagues to collaborate with.  New ideas, strategies, and resources to deploy.  And this year, practically a new job.  The new school supplies capture all that promise.

But even if you aren’t a teacher, or you don’t have kids in school, don’t you love new school (or office) supplies?  Isn’t there something exciting about it all?  Or am I the only nerd in the world?

This entry was posted in Job. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That New Crayon Smell

  1. Sharon Blackmore says:

    Anne,
    When you get tired of teaching, you should become a writer. No. You are not a nerd. I love pencils, crayons, paper, etc. When I was a young girl, we had fountain pens. We bought ink in little bottles to fill the pens. As I recall, ink came in black, blue, purple and turquoise. I loved the purple and turquoise. To put this in perspective, this was over 50 years ago. About 20 years ago, I went into a small office supply store and there was some of the bottles of ink. I bought two for old times sake and they are in a box under my bed with other special “nerdy” things. If you ever come to visit, I will give you a peek into my box.

    Aunt Sharon

  2. I love new school supplies too. A little too much… You’re certainly not alone.

Leave a Reply

