My Public Apology to Chick-Fil-A

Chick-Fil-A, I am TRULY sorry for writing you off for so many years.  But in my defense, we didn’t grow up with stand alone restaurants.  All we had were the small food court versions and let’s be honest, how many people actually enjoy food court food?  (If you do, I am truly sorry for you.  You have yet to actually eat a good meal in your entire life or you are lying to yourself.)

I don’t get out much.  I haven’t gotten out much since Buggy came along.  And going out to eat with him in tow – out of the question.  I do not wish that experience on my worst enemy (well… maybe).  It can be a horrendous experience to eat dinner with a toddler – much less out in public.  I hate sitting near people with young kids when out to eat, so why would I become my own pet peeve?  I don’t care how cute you think your kid is, I find it annoying to hear the sippy cup drop followed by “uh-oh” a thousand times while I naw on my steak or scarf down my burger.

If only every meal time was this cheerful.

However, a wonderful friend invited my sister and I to join her and her beautiful children at our local Chick-fil-a for playtime and lunch.  To expand our horizons, and also to spend time with a lovely person, (I also had coupons) I said yes.

Stunned.  Amazed.  Awe-struck.  I need a thesaurus to continue.

Besides the fact that the food was worlds better than I remember and my son enjoyed his meal thoroughly, they were SO NICE TO MOMS!

They get it!  They totally know that going out to eat with your child completely sucks but sometimes it has to be done… because you can’t think of one more creative, healthy meal… spend one more minute inside the four walls of the house… and you feel like eating out at least once a year (once a week for some of you brave souls)!

I swear every single employee came over to us at least once.  And they didn’t just smile.  They didn’t sweep under our feet (which has happened on many occasions at restaurants and completely pisses me off!).  They came to help us get high chairs, refill our drinks, bring us napkins and straws, take our trash away, put the high chairs back.  Seriously – these people are more helpful than most husbands on a good day (but not mine of course, he is a rare breed and is actually pretty decent with helping out with Buggy on a bad day)!  And they have fabulous plastic place mats with sticky edges to put on the table so your child doesn’t have to eat off of said table.  What a concept!

What did I get out of our visit?  I felt acknowledged and appreciated as an overwhelmed mother doing the best I can to make my child happy and keep him fed.  They totally got me and made me feel fabulous!  Granted, the fact that I have had little to no sleep in the past 4 nights may be affecting my ability to separate fantasy from reality, I’m pretty sure what I experienced was real and I would feel the same way well rested.

So thank you Chick-fil-a.  I take back anything negative I ever said about you.  I am ashamed I didn’t visit you before now.  And I promise you are now my go to fast food stop on those rare occasions I actually get to have someone else make my food for me.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Public Apology to Chick-Fil-A

  1. People at Chick-fil-a are so nice. And they have awesome milkshakes. =)

  2. Sonia McDonnell says:

    I am loving your blog. Chick-fil-a is a pleasure! As they always say when they take your order, “My pleasure.”

  3. Steph says:

    I think Chick-Fil-A is so awesome because they’re truly a Christian company. Besides not just being opened on Sundays, they support Christian conservative causes whether political in nature or nonprofit. I’ve had the joy of working with them in VA and here where we are now in KY and its always the same. Amazing, helpful people. With delish food!

Leave a Reply

